Cuche wins Downhill title, Svindal third in Lenzerheide race

March 16th, 2011

Cuche recaptures the Downhill Globe, Svindal podiums in Lenzerheide

One day after announcing that he would be fighting on for another season, Didier Cuche recaptured the Men’s Downhill Crystal Globe. Cuche now has four Globes, one behind the legendary Franz Klammer. The day was full of high drama and so many things that could happen but in the end, the one thing that all HEAD fans wanted did happen: Didier Cuche is the Men’s Downhill Champion for the fourth time in his career!

Cuche started next to last in the restricted field and despite the warm conditions he showed that he is not just a master of the cold and icy but also spring conditions. Many of the early runners had benefited from the sun and good visibility. Following the now traditional ski flip in the finish, Cuche took his latest possession on a trip around the finish: The Crystal Globe! This delighted his many fans in the finish area. "Despite my gruff outside, inside I am quite sensitive, so today, I am very, very happy," explained Cuche after the race.

With the light favouring the early runners, Cuche’s performance in coming fourth was exceptional. Fellow HEAD racer and last man down, Ted Ligety tweeted afterwards that light was THE deciding factor. "(Cuche) would have won by 1.5second if he ran in the sun."

While Cuche was celebrated another Globe, there was more good news for the HEAD racers as Aksel Lund Svindal took third place. It has been a hard few weeks for the Norwegian but he managed to use his strength and courage to bang in another podium and lift himself up to tenth in the season long standings.

Walchhofer may have been fastest in training but it is race day that counts and Didier Cuche scored the points that took him to the front of the Downhill standings.
As one of only two racers to score points in every single race, Didier Cuche is a worthy World Cup Champion and it is great to see that he will be back again for more next season!

1. Adrien Theaux
2. Joachim Puchner
3. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) HEAD
4. Didier Cuche (SUI) HEAD
12. Johan Clarey (FRA) HEAD
15. Werner Heel (ITA) HEAD
19. Ted Ligety (USA) HEAD