Fenninger second in Garmisch
February 5th, 2012

Fenninger rides her luck to second in Garmisch

On a rare day that saw defending World Cup Super G Champion Lindsey Vonn fail to finish, it was Anna Fenninger that upheld the honour of the HEAD World Cup Rebels with second place in the Garmisch World Cup Super G. The bitterly cold conditions and a demanding course that was technically interesting, Fenninger placed second behind Julia Mancuso with Tina Weirather in third place.

Fenninger started two behind Mancuso and was chasing the time that she had set in the finish. With four of the first six races having struggled on the lower part of the Icehang section of the course, news reached the start that this was a place to be wary of. Fenninger admitted that she had been a little too straight at the first jump at the top of course and this had cost her a little time as she had to rapidly correct her line or she would have collided with a gate! “The top was not so good,” she explained “and then I had to work lower down the course.”

This was Fenninger’s fourth Super G podium in the fifth race of the season and she admitted that “the feeling is much better in Super G at the moment than in Downhill.” In scoring 80 points in the race, Fenninger’s consistency means that she is now just 20 points behind Vonn with three races in the Super G World Cup to go.

With Lindsey Vonn starting straight after the Austrian, Vonn was held in the start for a period of time. While Vonn posted a faster first split than Mancuso’s time, she struggled on the steep and dark pitch that is known as Icehang and when she rapidly had to correct the direction of her skis and then got caught in the wrong direction for the next gate, this was not going to be the race that gave her the outright lead in the number of wins in World Cup Super G.

With Maria Hoefl-Riesch placing fourth, a tenth of a second behind third place, World Champion Lizzi Goergl rued a bad choice of line as she placed seventh overall.

1. Julia Mancuso (USA)
2. Anna Fenninger (AUT) HEAD
3. Tina Weirather (LIE)
4. Maria Hoefl-Riesch (GER) HEAD
7. Lizzi Goergl (AUT) HEAD
14. Anja Paerson (SWE) HEAD
30. Alexandra Coletti (MON) HEAD