Jansrud podiums in first Kvitfjell Super G
March 2nd, 2012

Jansrud leads four HEAD World Cup Rebels home in 3rd

Kjetil Jansrud was just edged out of the win in the first of two World Cup Super G races in Kvitfjell, Norway by a mere three hundredths of a second. With Beat Feuz and Klaus Kroell tied for the win, this matched Jansrud’s best result in a World Cup Super G, from Val Gardena earlier this season. Behind him came Didier Cuche, Aksel Lund Svindal and Matthias Mayer in places four to six, with Mayer just half a second from the win.

With Jansrud in great form having won both training runs for the downhill down the 1994 Olympic course, Jansrud took the lead from fellow HEAD World Cup rebel and another man in form, Matthias Mayer. With this result Mayer has moved up level with Bode Miller in twelfth place in the season long standings. Miller is still recovering from his injury and has announced that he will take the rest of the season off.

"From the middle section and down I skied well," said HEAD World Cup Rebel Jansrud. The Norwegian recovered from a shaky start and then used the speed he generated to good effect on the run in to the finish. "Really, it's a privilege to be on the podium. The three hundredths are frustration, more than anything. I'm certainly not the first guy to lose by those numbers.”

Both Aksel Lund Svindal and Didier Cuche, the two leading protagonists for the Super G Globe, attacked the top sections and had the green lights on their runs until the final run in. After the high winds had glazed the course, improving the already good conditions, the race was won and lost on small errors: For Cuche a slight error cost him dear on a straight section of the course. The place ahead of Svindal however, means he edges closer to the Norwegian in the race for the Globe: The difference is now down to two points with two races left!

1= Klaus Kroell (AUT)
1= Beat Feuz (SUI)
3. Kjetil Jansrud (NOR) HEAD
4. Didier Cuche (SUI) HEAD
5. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) HEAD
6. Matthias Mayer (AUT) HEAD
15. Johan Clarey (FRA) HEAD
20. Hans Olsson (SWE) HEAD
23. Werner Heel (ITA) HEAD
29= Gauthier de Tessieres (FRA) HEAD