Mayer wins race, Svindal the Globe
March 12th, 2014

Matthias Mayer is already the Olympic Downhill Champion and now a World Cup winner after his victory in the final Downhill of the season. With Ted Ligety taking joint second in the race, Aksel Lund Svindal retook the lead in the Overall and collected the Downhill Globe with fifth place.

“It really means a lot of me to win today. I’ve had some good races in the last few weeks and its nice to get another downhill victory today,” Mayer said of his win. “It was difficult, we only had one training run yesterday and everyone made some mistakes there so it was wide open for today’s race. Today I had good skiing in the bottom section which I think made the difference.”

The conditions were perfect fro the race after the temperature dropped overnight yet the hard conditions caused a number of racers problems: Georg Streitberger was one of a number of racers to crash; Streitberger almost completed a full sideways flip but recovered to ski down to the finish.

With the race for the Overall tight, Svindal was looking to score big points but a small mistake at the top cost him and although he was just two tenths off the win, he was down in fifth spot. This was enough to retake the lead in the Overall with three racers left of the World Cup season. “For a downhill skier this globe is one of the big globes. Getting it here in front of a nice crowd like this feels really, really good,” said Svindal after the race.

In taking second place, Ligety scored his best downhill result on the World Cup. The course with its long sweeping turns and technical requirements suited the HEAD World Cup Rebel and he was the first of the small field for the final race to really take it to the limit. Second place keeps him in the hunt for the Overall. “To be on the podium in every single event now in my career is a pretty cool accomplishment,” said Ligety. Lenzerheide, he added, is one of the downhill courses he will always enter.

With victory in the Downhill World Cup, this was Aksel Lund Svindal’s ninth small Globe and eleventh in all.

1. Matthias Mayer (AUT) HEAD
2. Ted Ligety (USA) HEAD
Christof Innerhofer (ITA)
5. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) HEAD
8. Bode Miller (USA) HEAD
12. Kjetil Jansrud (NOR) HEAD